Strange behaviour when switching views

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
directx11
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:50 pm

Strange behaviour when switching views

Postby directx11 » Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:04 pm

Hello

From some time i've got strange problem with performance. Starting application it seems to be fine, got very good performance, but trying to switch to another view, e.g. pressing "S" for external view, FPS immediately drops to around 1FPS (sound seems to be also corrupted) - check https://youtu.be/JWdZ6-om8Do movie). Back to cockpit does not improve the situation.

My spec:
Intel I7-8750H
16GB RAM
GF GTX 1070, resolution 1920x1080x32
Prepar3D v4 Academic 4.3.29.25520
Windows 10 x64

Martyson
Posts: 5416
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Strange behaviour when switching views

Postby Martyson » Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:18 pm

Hello

From some time i've got strange problem with performance. Starting application it seems to be fine, got very good performance, but trying to switch to another view, e.g. pressing "S" for external view, FPS immediately drops to around 1FPS (sound seems to be also corrupted) - check https://youtu.be/JWdZ6-om8Do movie). Back to cockpit does not improve the situation.

My spec:
Intel I7-8750H
16GB RAM
GF GTX 1070, resolution 1920x1080x32
Prepar3D v4 Academic 4.3.29.25520
Windows 10 x64
In your video when you switch views I hear strange sounds like voices but not understandable?

What is your default flight aircraft?

Use Windowed mode.
Try locking your FPS to 20.
Reboot your PC.
Test with the F22 again.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

directx11
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:50 pm

Re: Strange behaviour when switching views

Postby directx11 » Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:39 pm

No changes :/, tested with FPS limited (different values) and not, windowed and fullscreen mode. F22 is default plane, when trying to switch to another one from main menu, on start got very poor performance. Only starting default F22 got it fine on start, but after switchg view FPS drops. Do not recognize these sounds also, but probably it is corrupted engine, but who knows.

Martyson
Posts: 5416
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: Strange behaviour when switching views

Postby Martyson » Wed Jan 02, 2019 8:52 pm

No changes :/, tested with FPS limited (different values) and not, windowed and fullscreen mode. F22 is default plane, when trying to switch to another one from main menu, on start got very poor performance. Only starting default F22 got it fine on start, but after switchg view FPS drops. Do not recognize these sounds also, but probably it is corrupted engine, but who knows.
Need more history on your current P3Dv3 setup.
When did problem start?
Installed add-ons?
Number of displays?
etc.

Something on your PC or P3D setup is bad.

Edit:
The ghost sounds are of interest.
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

directx11
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:50 pm

Re: Strange behaviour when switching views

Postby directx11 » Thu Jan 03, 2019 12:24 pm

Not sure, when problem started. After installation everything was fine. Then some time passed, i think NVidia drivers were updated maybe two times, probably Windows 10 October update was also installed. I do not have any addons installed, this is pure P3D. One, default laptop display.
I did additional test - my laptop has second, integrated graphic card Intel UHD Graphics 630. I disabled it in device manager and now, P3D does not detect my NVidia card, but Microsoft Basic Renderer Driver.0.0 and result is FSP=~1. Sounds like some drivers problem, but cannot understand fine performance in this case on start.
I've also updated client to version 4.4 yesterday, without any improvement. Are there any NVidia drivers version recomended to be used with P3D?

directx11
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2019 7:50 pm

Re: Strange behaviour when switching views

Postby directx11 » Sat Jan 05, 2019 12:28 am

Next, quite interesting observation. When simulation is paused, everything works fine, FPS is as should be. I can switch views, rotate, move, whatever and it works! But when i unpause FPS drops to around 1 FPS.

Senchay
Posts: 98
Joined: Wed Jun 07, 2017 4:47 pm

Re: Strange behaviour when switching views

Postby Senchay » Sat Jan 05, 2019 10:07 pm

I had something that sounds a bit like this. But it was not related to views. Maybe its not related, still i wanted to drop it here.

Around 3 weeks ago i started up my pc and found myself with a whopping 5 fps in the f22. In outsideview even. I think most ppl know that usual values here may be over 100 fps, usually 70, 80, something like that. So i was baffled because nothing helped reverting to the old state. The sim seem to be stuck in those very very low fps values and no shader clear or p3d cfg deletes helped (and all those other things like DDU, driver reinstall ). Theres a topic here too where reported this.

The problem in my case that for some reason windows, or nvidia drivers, microdrivers for the devies involved or whatever - im not sure exactly where this related, maybe a combo of all of it - could not "talk" to my monitor anymore. Im not sure how this exactly works here but to have things like Vsync work (probably the whole "connection" to P3D output is related to this)the handshake with the monitor needs to be correct.

If the GPU out does not make this handshake with your monitor P3D seems to have a major issue here. Yes, i say again P3D because neither XP nor DCS did this when it occured.

And the reason this problem came up was that i dont go directly out from GPU to Monitor. Theres always a streaming card or splitter in between. Before the GPU could do the handshake even "through" those devices but that seemed to have changed.

Now im not sure what other setups may cause this too. A hint would be a look into your display devices and check if its really your monitor that is displayed there and that with the correct deviceID and name. Not just something like PNP-Monitor. If its not a fully cheap thing there should be real names here and the ID. Even my 110 Eur Samsung has this if the handshake is correct. Then its displayed as S24D330 and not PNP Monitor or other things that dont give hint to the real device.

So that may be a an idea to check. Doesnt take long.

What i also experienced is that when fps are locked via nvidia settings or inspector and i use chaseplane to look around, when pressing middlemouse to look around the fps lock gets thrown out lol. ANd when letting go it reverts to the 30 fps lock. THats so crazy and i dont even know how this can be.

There were changes in all apps... thats the big problem to detect the source. Win got 1809 that changed many things. Nvidia driver too and 4.4 even more.... I hope all those weird thing can be hunt down, really.
P3D 4.4, I7700K, 2080 RTX, 16GB Ram, Asus Prime Z270K, Win 10

aerospace-engineer
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 12:38 am

Re: Strange behaviour when switching views

Postby aerospace-engineer » Sun Jan 13, 2019 12:35 am

I have the same problem.

For the latest P3D version, I did a new Windows 10 installation with recent drivers and installed P3D V4.4 without problems.

I do this approx. twice a year and never had problems. But now! :-(

Independent if window mode or not or which aircraft in use, the frame rate drops to 1 to 5 where I normally have at least 30 FPS.

aerospace-engineer
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Nov 24, 2013 12:38 am

Re: Strange behaviour when switching views

Postby aerospace-engineer » Wed Jan 16, 2019 10:19 pm

I updated the GeForce Game Ready Driver (Version 417.71) which has been published yesterday but this doesn't solve the problem.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests