Windows Update:New Error Message Invalid Hardware

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
bens
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:28 pm

Windows Update:New Error Message Invalid Hardware

Postby bens » Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:39 pm

Prepar3d has been working fine as of yesterday. After the Microsoft windows update all of a sudden Prepar3d tries to open but issues an error message of " Invalid hardware or driver detected. prepar3d was unable to initialize the rendering system and will shut down.Please make sure this system has a video card that supports directx11 and that the drivers are up to date."

As I said, this is brand new as of today and everything was fine yesterday. Any suggestions?

Ben

User avatar
aeronauta
Posts: 1354
Joined: Sun Oct 23, 2011 1:56 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Windows Update:New Error Message Invalid Hardware

Postby aeronauta » Mon Jan 08, 2018 7:31 am

does your system has an integrated video and a video card?? if so make sure that the integrated video is disabled.. that is done in the bios..

Jorge
Jorge Roldan
OZx Developer (aero) - Hovercontrol Helicopter Certified Pilot - Spad.Next Beta Tester

bens
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: Windows Update:New Error Message Invalid Hardware

Postby bens » Sat Jan 13, 2018 2:00 am

I have updated my drivers for my NVIDIA card.I have used the repair function of Prepar3d. I have uninstalled prepar3d twice, rebooting each time and then installed it clean. I was on the phone today with NVIDIA and they say it is not the video card or Direct X as they are functioning properly. They are convinced it is something in Prepar3d. Any additional thoughts.

User avatar
Poppet
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1703
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: Windows Update:New Error Message Invalid Hardware

Postby Poppet » Mon Jan 15, 2018 12:09 am

I have uninstalled prepar3d twice, rebooting each time and then installed it clean.

Hello bens

Did you delete the generated folders when you Uninstalled Prepar3D ?

Try this step

Navigate to your core Prepar3D v4 folder,  Scroll down a bit,  Double left Click on the file  Delete Generated Files 

Then launch Prepar3D and test. Let us know how you get on

Image
Elaine Dixon
Prepar3D® Forum Global Moderator

Installing, Updating & Uninstalling Prepar3D-----------General Debugging Steps-----------How to Post Screenshots

bens
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:28 pm

Re: Windows Update:New Error Message Invalid Hardware

Postby bens » Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:28 am

It generated new scenery files and then I got the same rendering error message.

User avatar
Poppet
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1703
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: Windows Update:New Error Message Invalid Hardware

Postby Poppet » Mon Jan 15, 2018 2:11 pm

Hello bens

I understand you have updated your Graphics driver but can you Uninstall this driver again using a Driver cleaning utility like DDU (Driver Display Uninstaller) This utility will remove all previous files, folders and registry entries from your graphics driver leaving a clean path for you to Install your driver again

Have a look at the Topic below and let us know how you get on

viewtopic.php?f=6315&t=126058&p=163882#p163882
Elaine Dixon
Prepar3D® Forum Global Moderator

Installing, Updating & Uninstalling Prepar3D-----------General Debugging Steps-----------How to Post Screenshots


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 19 guests