P3D v3.4 & V4 CTD g2d.dll Error Loading Scenario - Orbx

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
nikejp63
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:36 pm

P3D v3.4 & V4 CTD g2d.dll Error Loading Scenario - Orbx

Postby nikejp63 » Fri Jun 09, 2017 1:10 am

Hi,
This is a frustrating problem. I have v3.4 installed and a couple of weeks ago P3D started CTD while loading terrain after starting a scenario. This would happen at about 25% during the load. Never happened befor. The only thing that changed after my last successful flight was that I downloaded and installed some of the 55% off scenery ORBX had on sale. I tried all the old tricks of deleting cfg, shaders etc. Even deleted the new Orbx stuff. Nothing worked.
So, I decided to stop troubleshooting since v4 was being released. So yesterday, I installed v4 and I'm getting the same CTD. After booting up P3D v4 for the first time and loading the default scenario, it crashes at about 25% during the load. The dreaded g2d.dll error on both versions. I completely removed my nvidia driver using the DDU program. Loaded the latest nvidia driver.
Today, I launched v4 and was able to actually fly without crashing for awhile. I kept changing airport locations after a test flight. About the third flight, I moved to another airport and it CTD while loading terrain scenery. The three events are pasted below. I have no addon's in my v4. It's plain stock P3d. I would've said the issue was the Orbx install, but v4 has no idea Orbx is even on my PC. What is the commonality between v3.4, v4 and this g2d.dll error. I hope someone can help. I want to fly again! Thanks.

Nick

PC
I7 4790k
16g ram
EVGA 1080
Win 7 Home

Error Log

Log Name: Application
Source: .NET Runtime
Date: 6/8/2017 8:30:52 PM
Event ID: 1026
Task Category: None
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Nike-PC
Description:
Application: Prepar3D.exe
Framework Version: v4.0.30319
Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
Exception Info: exception code c0000005, exception address 000007FED255B9F3

Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name=".NET Runtime" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1026</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2017-06-09T00:30:52.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>80768</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Nike-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>Application: Prepar3D.exe
Framework Version: v4.0.30319
Description: The process was terminated due to an unhandled exception.
Exception Info: exception code c0000005, exception address 000007FED255B9F3
</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 6/8/2017 8:30:53 PM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Nike-PC
Description:
Faulting application name: Prepar3D.exe, version: 4.0.23.21468, time stamp: 0x59279be2
Faulting module name: g2d.dll, version: 4.0.23.21468, time stamp: 0x59279ca2
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000010b9f3
Faulting process id: 0x254
Faulting application start time: 0x01d2e0a966e3b96b
Faulting application path: E:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe
Faulting module path: E:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\g2d.dll
Report Id: e49f679b-4caa-11e7-b90d-d050995ccf1b
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2017-06-09T00:30:53.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>80769</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Nike-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>Prepar3D.exe</Data>
<Data>4.0.23.21468</Data>
<Data>59279be2</Data>
<Data>g2d.dll</Data>
<Data>4.0.23.21468</Data>
<Data>59279ca2</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>000000000010b9f3</Data>
<Data>254</Data>
<Data>01d2e0a966e3b96b</Data>
<Data>E:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\Prepar3D.exe</Data>
<Data>E:\Lockheed Martin\Prepar3D v4\g2d.dll</Data>
<Data>e49f679b-4caa-11e7-b90d-d050995ccf1b</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

Log Name: Application
Source: Windows Error Reporting
Date: 6/8/2017 8:31:12 PM
Event ID: 1001
Task Category: None
Level: Information
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Nike-PC
Description:
Fault bucket 511725035, type 28
Event Name: APPCRASH
Response: Not available
Cab Id: 0

Problem signature:
P1: Prepar3D.exe
P2: 4.0.23.21468
P3: 59279be2
P4: g2d.dll
P5: 4.0.23.21468
P6: 59279ca2
P7: c0000005
P8: 000000000010b9f3
P9:
P10:

Attached files:
C:\Users\Nike\AppData\Local\Temp\WERD79.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml

These files may be available here:
C:\Users\Nike\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_Prepar3D.exe_d3206bee628b19b5b446344f2c1f60654a6ac15e_14505716

Analysis symbol:
Rechecking for solution: 0
Report Id: e49f679b-4caa-11e7-b90d-d050995ccf1b
Report Status: 0
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Windows Error Reporting" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1001</EventID>
<Level>4</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2017-06-09T00:31:12.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>80770</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Nike-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>511725035</Data>
<Data>28</Data>
<Data>APPCRASH</Data>
<Data>Not available</Data>
<Data>0</Data>
<Data>Prepar3D.exe</Data>
<Data>4.0.23.21468</Data>
<Data>59279be2</Data>
<Data>g2d.dll</Data>
<Data>4.0.23.21468</Data>
<Data>59279ca2</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>000000000010b9f3</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>
C:\Users\Nike\AppData\Local\Temp\WERD79.tmp.WERInternalMetadata.xml</Data>
<Data>C:\Users\Nike\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Windows\WER\ReportArchive\AppCrash_Prepar3D.exe_d3206bee628b19b5b446344f2c1f60654a6ac15e_14505716</Data>
<Data>
</Data>
<Data>0</Data>
<Data>e49f679b-4caa-11e7-b90d-d050995ccf1b</Data>
<Data>0</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

nikejp63
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:36 pm

Re: P3D v3.4 & V4 CTD g2d.dll Error Loading Scenario

Postby nikejp63 » Fri Jun 09, 2017 2:03 am

Additional info:

When I got v4 to load scenario without CTD, I had ran FSX right before to see if it would crash loading a scenario. FSX didn't crash. So after this latest CTD on v4, I rebooted the PC and started v4. It crashed again loading scenario at 25%. So I ran FSX again, then I ran v4 again. Of course v4 loaded the scenario without crashing. I don't know if this is significant or a coincidence. I know FSX also has the g2d.dll. Help!!!

nikejp63
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:36 pm

Re: P3D v3.4 & V4 CTD g2d.dll Error Loading Scenario

Postby nikejp63 » Fri Jun 16, 2017 10:05 pm

It has been one week and I still haven't received a response from LM. Any help? Suggestion? Anything? I uninstalled and reinstalled v4 and I still randomly get a CTD when loading a scenario. It was good for about 6 days and today it happened again. This is when it's loading terrain at about 25%. The same g2d.dll error. All I'm asking is what I should be looking for to troubleshoot a clean brand new install of v4. This issue started on my v3. There has to be a common thread here.

User avatar
Poppet
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1338
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: P3D v3.4 & V4 CTD g2d.dll Error Loading Scenario

Postby Poppet » Sun Jun 18, 2017 8:11 pm

Hello nikejp63

Can you click the link below and go through the General debugging steps one by one and Insure you also follow step 5, Remove your generated files, This will disconnect your Add On's. Launch Prepar3D and test in this default state, Then Introduce your Add On's back slowly and test as you go along to try and Isolate the Issue. Insure you only use Prepar3D v4 compatible Software

Go through the steps one by one

http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 2&t=123246
Elaine Dixon
Prepar3D® Forum Global Moderator

Installing, Updating & Uninstalling Prepar3D-----------General Debugging Steps-----------How to Post Screenshots

nikejp63
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:36 pm

Re: P3D v3.4 & V4 CTD g2d.dll Error Loading Scenario

Postby nikejp63 » Mon Jun 19, 2017 10:25 pm

Thanks for your response. I've already gone through the general debugging steps. This is my second fresh clean install of P3D v4. No add ons. I have removed v3 and all the add ons. I removed my nvidia driver with DDU and loaded the latest driver. I was able to load a scenario and fly successfully for a few days on v4. Now again I am getting random CTD while loading the terrain (at about 25% of load). The same g2d.dll error. It never crashes during flight, always while loading terrain. Could some of my scenery cabs be corrupt? I really don't know what to do. I've had v2.5, v3 and never had this problem. If it would crash all of the time, it would probably be easier to solve. Thanks.

Nick

User avatar
Poppet
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1338
Joined: Sat Nov 01, 2014 4:12 pm

Re: P3D v3.4 & V4 CTD g2d.dll Error Loading Scenario

Postby Poppet » Mon Jun 19, 2017 11:56 pm

Hello Nick,

Just to confirm, You have gone through the general debugging steps and your Windows 7 operating system is up to date,
You have also done a clean Install of the latest graphics driver using the DDU cleaning utility

Also Insure you have the Latest Microsoft Visuals 2015 Installed


As a process of elimination try these

1) Click the link below, scroll down a bit and follow the steps included in Additional information these 2 steps will bring Prepar3D back to a default state, it will also confirm the Integrity of your Prepar3D v4 Install

Launch Prepar3D and test in this default state http://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopic ... 2&t=125187

--------

2) Create another Windows User account with Admin rights, Sign into this new account, Launch Prepar3D and test
Elaine Dixon
Prepar3D® Forum Global Moderator

Installing, Updating & Uninstalling Prepar3D-----------General Debugging Steps-----------How to Post Screenshots

nikejp63
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:36 pm

Re: P3D v3.4 & V4 CTD g2d.dll Error Loading Scenario

Postby nikejp63 » Sat Jul 22, 2017 8:45 pm

Elaine,
Update. I was able to successfully install P3D v4 and test good without addons. I tried scenarios from different airports in the world with default scenery and airplane. When I install Orbx Global Base, I start getting the g2d.dll error and CTD while the scenario is loading terrain at 25%. Doesn't happen at every airport, but if it crashes at a particular airport, it always crashes. And when it successfully loads the scenario at a particular airport, it always loads. My antivirus is off when I install, I download with IDM, my drivers are updated, Windows 7 and the Microsoft related programs are up to date.

I posted on Orbx's support forum and was told to search g2d.dll errors on the internet. No help what so ever. I know you guys aren't responsible for add ons, but I am at the end of my rope here. I don't know what else to do. I can't get this to work on v4. Is there anybody out there who can think of a reason why I get g2d.dll errors when I load Orbx Base?

Martyson
Posts: 3116
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: P3D v3.4 & V4 CTD g2d.dll Error Loading Scenario

Postby Martyson » Sat Jul 22, 2017 11:03 pm

" Doesn't happen at every airport, but if it crashes at a particular airport, it always crashes."

Which airport?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

nikejp63
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:36 pm

Re: P3D v3.4 & V4 CTD g2d.dll Error Loading Scenario

Postby nikejp63 » Mon Jul 24, 2017 10:50 pm

"Which airport?"

I just randomly load flights with the default Bonanza after I installed Orbx Global Base. The 5 times I've reinstalled P3D v4 and Orbx Base, it has crashed at different airports. I just loaded Orbx Base again after testing another reinstall of P3D v4 and it CTD when loading the default scenario. Then I started the program again and tried loading a scenario with default KIPL and it loaded fine. Moved to default PANC, it loaded fine. Moved to an default airport in Maine, CTD with the g2d.dll error.

Yesterday, I reloaded P3D v4 again with no addons, tried starting a flight at different airports and I can't get it to CTD. Deleted FTX Central, downloaded the Orbx files manually. Orbx has been no help. I cleaned my Windows registry, did a Windows system file check and received no errors.

I need help and not the standard "did you try our troubleshooting procedures?". I am really getting frustrated and don't know what to try to fix it besides buying Windows 10 and starting over. Somebody here at LM or at Orbx has to know what is causing these g2d.dll errors.

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 606
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: P3D v3.4 & V4 CTD g2d.dll Error Loading Scenario - Orbx

Postby Rob McCarthy » Tue Jul 25, 2017 5:38 pm

Are these specific scenery add-ons v4 compatible? If so, I recommend contacting Orbx to see if they can reproduce the issue on their end. I also recommend downloading and installing the hotfix for v4 to see if this alleviates any issues.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

nikejp63
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 18, 2015 11:36 pm

Re: P3D v3.4 & V4 CTD g2d.dll Error Loading Scenario - Orbx

Postby nikejp63 » Wed Jul 26, 2017 1:34 am

Yes, they are compatible. Yes, I have the hotfix installed. It's Orbx Global base and Vector. I'm sure you know that Orbx products are now compatible. And yes, I have posted on their forum a detailed description of my problem. Their response was, " a simple search of g2d.dll error on the internet will help you". Is there anybody here that actually has a clue on what would cause a g2d.dll error while loading the scenario is loading terrain. Nobody here ever answers that question. Thanks.

hermes82
Posts: 296
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 3:05 pm

Re: P3D v3.4 & V4 CTD g2d.dll Error Loading Scenario - Orbx

Postby hermes82 » Wed Jul 26, 2017 12:23 pm

just a thought but I had similar issues with p3d v3+ corrupt flight plans were my issue, not all of them just the the ones most often used, I fixed the issue by opening the flight plan in Plan-G then resaving and overwriting the original


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests