ControllableCamera v4.5 'automatically created'?

MS1787C
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 12:34 pm

ControllableCamera v4.5 'automatically created'?

Postby MS1787C » Wed Apr 10, 2019 9:37 am

I've just read the following with interest on the v4.5 features list re: controllable camera, and wanted to ask if anyone could provide some more detail here (I know the team are busy, but this would be very useful):

A controllable camera is now automatically created when any corresponding variable is requested from an XML gauge or Scaleform.

What does the above mean in practice? I've been experimenting with CC for a good while now, modifying the .dll from the TargetingPod sample, but have long wanted to get rid of the .dll entirely and create/control a camera using XML solely. Does the above make this possible? If so, what's the syntax?

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2294
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: ControllableCamera v4.5 'automatically created'?

Postby Rob McCarthy » Wed Apr 10, 2019 4:03 pm

Hello,

Yes, the creation of the camera will be done when any corresponding custom variables are called. This will link to the current view. If you need a specific RTT view or secondary view linked you may still need to register using the PDK. The syntax will be C:P3DCONTROLLABLECAMERA:FUNCTION_NAME

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead

MS1787C
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 12:34 pm

Re: ControllableCamera v4.5 'automatically created'?

Postby MS1787C » Wed Apr 10, 2019 11:06 pm

Thank you very much Rob, this is most appreciated. Out of interest, and for the avoidance of doubt (though I guess the above answers it) was there ever an operation for registering a CC view, using the PDK, within an XML gauge? e.g. "CameraViewName" (>C:P3DCONTROLLABLECAMERA:Init). I'm presuming no, as I've tried to no avail, and the documentation does not suggest as much either.

User avatar
Rob McCarthy
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 2294
Joined: Wed Aug 24, 2011 1:37 pm

Re: ControllableCamera v4.5 'automatically created'?

Postby Rob McCarthy » Thu May 02, 2019 2:11 am

Hello,

No, currently that's not supported. You'd need to use the PDK directly to do any custom initialization for the camera.

Regards,
Rob McCarthy
Rob McCarthy
Prepar3D® Core Lead


Return to “Software Development Kit (SDK) Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests