P3D::PdkServices::GetMenuService()->AddItem with unknown parent MenuID

BenBaron
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 7:51 am

P3D::PdkServices::GetMenuService()->AddItem with unknown parent MenuID

Postby BenBaron » Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:20 pm

Hi guys,

I am adding a menu item to P3Ds menu. With SimConnect, this is automatically added to P3Ds Add-Ons menu item as a child. But now, with the PDK method, the menu item is placed directly in the main menu bar, which I don't want. So, is it somehow possible to retrieve the MenuID of an existing menu item (Add-Ons) to pass it to AddItem as parent argument?

All the best, Benny

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1890
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: P3D::PdkServices::GetMenuService()->AddItem with unknown parent MenuID

Postby Beau Hollis » Thu Feb 21, 2019 5:31 pm

I believe you can use ADDON_ITEM_ID. The menu IDs for all the top level items are listed in the MenuService header:
#define NO_PARENT 0x0000
#define SCENARIO_ITEM_ID 0x1001
#define VEHICLE_ITEM_ID 0x1002
#define WORLD_ITEM_ID 0x1003
#define OPTIONS_ITEM_ID 0x1004
#define VIEWS_ITEM_ID 0x1005
#define HELP_ITEM_ID 0x1006
#define WINGMEN_ITEM_ID 0x1008
#define TOOLS_ITEM_ID 0x100d
#define TEST_ITEM_ID 0x100e
#define ADDON_ITEM_ID 0x1010
#define ANALYSIS_ITEM_ID 0x1011
#define NETWORK_ITEM_ID 0x1012
#define NAVIGATION_ITEM_ID 0x1013
#define ALL_CHILDREN 0xFFFF
Thanks
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

BenBaron
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 7:51 am

Re: P3D::PdkServices::GetMenuService()->AddItem with unknown parent MenuID

Postby BenBaron » Thu Feb 21, 2019 6:19 pm

Thanks Beau for your reply and the hint for the defines.

SCENARIO_ITEM_ID or ANALYSIS_ITEM_ID are working fine as parent MenuID. ADDON_ITEM_ID doesn't work, though. Produces a HRESULT of E_FAIL.

Greets, Benny

BenBaron
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 7:51 am

Re: P3D::PdkServices::GetMenuService()->AddItem with unknown parent MenuID

Postby BenBaron » Mon Apr 15, 2019 4:09 pm

So, unfortunately this still produces the above mentioned error in 4.5 on my side. Not able to add a menu item to the Addon submenu.

All the best,

Benny

Kaiii3
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue Feb 10, 2015 1:14 pm

Re: P3D::PdkServices::GetMenuService()->AddItem with unknown parent MenuID

Postby Kaiii3 » Mon Jul 08, 2019 11:25 am

I can confirm that using the latest SDK/PDK it is still not working using follwoing code:

Code: Select all

MenuService->AddItem(MenuItemAIG->GetId(), ADDON_ITEM_ID, 0);
Image

BenBaron
Posts: 75
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 7:51 am

Re: P3D::PdkServices::GetMenuService()->AddItem with unknown parent MenuID

Postby BenBaron » Mon Nov 04, 2019 3:10 pm

Hi guys,

just wanted to chime in that also with Prepar3D v4 SDK 4.5.13.32097 this doesn't seem to be fixed.

Greets,

Benny


Return to “Software Development Kit (SDK) Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests