[RESOLVED] Wave simulation

AlexisVGR
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:23 am

[RESOLVED] Wave simulation

Postby AlexisVGR » Thu Feb 22, 2018 3:17 pm

Seeing that P3D uses Triton, I wonder if it is possible to modify it to create different kinds of wave effects. On Triton's demo I can clearly see 3D Kerstner wakes, foam when the ship breaks a wave, white foam taking off from the tops of the waves etc.
I have seen some of the options being available in Triton's folder but most don't produce any results. Is there a way to produce such effects, or is it a limitation due to the features being OpenGL only or the version P3D has integrated?

User avatar
Airtrooper
Posts: 92
Joined: Sun Apr 22, 2012 12:53 pm

Re: Wave simulation

Postby Airtrooper » Mon Feb 26, 2018 9:44 pm

+1

I'd love to see those extra wave effects enabled please.
[img]http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7132/7495301302_be0ecddba8_z.jpg[/img]

i7-4770K 8Mb 3.5GHz, ASUS Z87-PRO, Corsair 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3,
GTX 780 3Gb, LG W2363D 23" LCD + nVidia GeForce 3D Vision Kit, Win7 Pro 64-bit

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1740
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: Wave simulation

Postby Beau Hollis » Tue Feb 27, 2018 1:45 pm

No. We do not recommend that you modify the triton configuration parameters as that may interfere with our engine integration. Prepar3D uses Triton's ocean wave computation pass to generates a square region with a repeatable pattern of 3D waves. Because of the complex nature of our full-earth terrain system, we do our own custom rendering and simulation using that data.
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

AlexisVGR
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2012 8:23 am

Re: Wave simulation

Postby AlexisVGR » Thu Mar 01, 2018 8:59 pm

I understand. The reason I asked is because we are building our own pitching physics and would like to improve the immersion by having improved water effects: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EtGZTbKh5Fs

lequinne
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 7:58 pm

Re: Wave simulation

Postby lequinne » Fri Mar 02, 2018 5:44 am

Hi Beau,

On a related note, would you consider adding an interface to the PDK at some point to query ocean/wave information? Specifically, I'd really like to be able to call Triton's GetHeight() function, it would be extremely useful.

Thanks,
Farley

User avatar
Beau Hollis
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1740
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2010 3:25 pm

Re: Wave simulation

Postby Beau Hollis » Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:46 pm

Wave height is accounted for in the simulation. You should be able to get the surface information via SDK. Our default boats do use wave height, though in a fairly basic way. You can write an ISimObject based plugin to roll your own boat simulation object and pull the surface info at given offsets to support more contact points if needed.

https://www.prepar3d.com/SDKv4/sdk/pdk_ ... 3d43bea09d
Beau Hollis
Prepar3D Software Architect

lequinne
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Jun 08, 2017 7:58 pm

Re: Wave simulation

Postby lequinne » Mon Mar 05, 2018 7:06 pm

Ah, that's perfect. Thank you sir!

Farley


Return to “Software Development Kit (SDK) Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests