Page 1 of 2

[RESOLVED] Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Sun May 26, 2019 10:54 am
by Rowdy739
I have lost addons that use Simconnect, such as Active Sky, Fltplan Go, and Chaseplane. None connect to the sim. I do not recall making any changes to the installation lately.

So far I have deleted my p3d.cfg file, performed a repair of the client and then the application itself, and then also uninstalled SimConnect Client v10.0.6x (three installations in control panel), then reinstalled from the redist folder. Nothing has worked, and I am about to flush the entire hard drive = hoping someone can help!

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Sun May 26, 2019 1:42 pm
by Rowdy739
At this point I have performed a clean install. Still can't get simconnect dependent add on's to work...

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Sun May 26, 2019 5:24 pm
by Rowdy739
Chaseplane log states "Attempting to connect to P3D's SimConnect
P3D SimConnect not ready"

ActiveSky log states "AS_P3Dv4_SimConnectionLog.txt
1:22:21 PM:0649-Pre Connect P3D_Connected = False
1:22:21 PM:0650-P3D Connect Pre Attempt: Instantiated = False / mConnected = False
1:22:21 PM:0761-Sim general message:Sim Msg: fsx_simconnect is NOTHING ...
1:22:24 PM:0138-Sim general message:Sim Msg: Failed to connect - Please ensure FS is running: Error HRESULT E_FAIL has been returned from a call to a COM component.
1:22:24 PM:0139-P3D Connect Post Attempt: Instantiated = True / mConnected = False
1:22:24 PM:0139-P3D Connection Attempted
1:22:24 PM:0139-Post Connect P3D_Connected = False"

No one has any ideas? I've reinstalled windows at this point, and Prepar3d, and all my addons...

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Sun May 26, 2019 5:27 pm
by Rowdy739
And from SimConnect Diagnostic Output all I see is:

Unable to read VR Path Registry from...

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Mon May 27, 2019 2:55 am
by aeronauta
Rowdy same here , I have tested it with V3 to V4.5+hf and no fix , there is a post in avsim with the same problem and he found that after the fix he got the problem and now is stuck.., he removed win10 and reinstall V4 and OK as soon as he run v4.5 the problem started.

JoinFS , planG , littlenavmap, and flashlights from Lorby don't work..

Jorge

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Mon May 27, 2019 3:19 pm
by WarpD
Do all of these addons require the FSX version of SimConnect be installed?

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Mon May 27, 2019 10:46 pm
by aeronauta
Yes Ed , JoinFS even fails and logs a msg saying the version required , AS also..

Jorge

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 12:51 am
by WarpD
The FSX SimConnect is 32-bit and I'm uncertain that it can interact with the 64-bit sim.

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 6:04 am
by aeronauta
Ed this setup has worked and is working for a lot of people now.. something in my system is gone and causes this problem.

Started happening a few days ago and I cannot pin it to anything..

Jorge

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 6:28 am
by boez
The FSX SimConnect is 32-bit and I'm uncertain that it can interact with the 64-bit sim.
A 32bit app has no issues interacting with a 64bit app when the interaction is achieved via IPC or TCP. They don't share the same address space and hence don't know or care the bit width of the other party. However it is true that a 32bit DLL cannot be loaded by a 64bit app and visa versa.

@Rowdy have you checked your simconnect config files? These may have been corrupted or deleted.

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:26 am
by WarpD
I just ran a test on my system and was able to connect to v4.5 using FSX SimConnect library/DLL without issue. I have started up ActiveSky and it connected to v4.5 without issue.

I am still using Win7, that may be the difference?

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Tue May 28, 2019 9:39 am
by aeronauta
Ed , hard to tell, I have so much stuff in my PC fr other use that I cannot really reset Win10 and start again , would be too disruptive , I saw a guy in AVSIM that did hat and still has the problem , so who knows...

Jorge

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Wed May 29, 2019 12:34 am
by Rowdy739
Jorge I posted over on Avsim - desperate for help I am afraid.

So I re-directed my 'Documents' folder to be stored on a 2nd internal hard drive; within this folder are the P3D related sub-folders for add-ons and files. After doing this, I was able to duplicate the issue - perhaps a file permissions error? I do not know. I followed published directions on how to move the default documents, downloads, and pictures locations... but who knows. Unfortunately I do not believe, that I had tampered with folder locations prior to this simconnect issue occurring.

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Wed May 29, 2019 1:10 am
by WarpD
Are you running Prepar3D as admin?

Re: Simconnect not working v4.5

Posted: Wed May 29, 2019 2:00 am
by Rowdy739
Yes, as Admin.