Page 1 of 2

SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Thu Apr 07, 2016 11:31 pm
by Raynald1
The only way I can start SimDirector is by clicking on catalog first and wait for the catalog to load.
If I click on the vizualization tab first, it freezes and the circle goes round and round to infinity and beyond...

Ray

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 5:02 pm
by mfkillen
Just doesn't freeze up on start up it continuously freezing. so much to the point that it probably better using another mission creation tool. Great concept but really needs work.

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 5:22 pm
by Mike LM
Raynald1 wrote:The only way I can start SimDirector is by clicking on catalog first and wait for the catalog to load.
If I click on the vizualization tab first, it freezes and the circle goes round and round to infinity and beyond...

I'm not able to reproduce the issue. A few questions:
What are your system specs?
And which add-ons are you using?
Can you load the Prepar3D view alright?

- Mike

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 6:15 pm
by mfkillen
Hi Mike

Thanks for the reply

Raynald1 soy didn't mean to hijack you thread here but I saw 50 views and no answer.

Mike
thanks for the reply.

Windows 10
AMD FX(tm) 6300 Six core 3.50GHZ
24GB ram
SSD 500 GB HD
Nivida
1x GTX 970
2x GTX GT 730

which add-ons are you using?

FTX global only

Can you load the Prepar3D view alright?

Didn't even get that far as noticed my CPU when stating Sim-director was at 97 % and nothing else running other then P3d and Avast AV

Where I noticed the continuous lag and pauses was on my other machine where I was making an attempt of leaning the Sim-director. A note also is that this machine is my dedicated server which runs no addons at all. Every time i wanted to add something or click on an item it would be unresponsive for 30 sec or so before I could proceed. Very frustrating to say the least.


Cheers

Mark

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:54 pm
by Mike LM
Which version of Prepar3D do you have? All of the updates in v3 helped out SimDirector's resource usage a lot.

- Mike

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:07 pm
by mfkillen
Hi Mike.

Sorry, forgot to put that in. Latest version of version 3

Mark

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:38 pm
by Raynald1
I am using P3D v3.2.
Even if I start with a blank SimDirector "canvas", I have to click on catalog (bottom left tab) and let it do its thing otherwise it will freeze and I have to restart. It will not close using the close window X (top right of the window).
i have to use the Windows Task Manager to close it.

I am using Window 7 with Service Pack 1
64 bit Operating system
8 GB of RAM
Intel i7-4790K CPU @4GHz

Ray

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 9:13 pm
by mfkillen
Mike LM wrote:Which version of Prepar3D do you have? All of the updates in v3 helped out SimDirector's resource usage a lot.

- Mike


Any more follow up on this at all from support.

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 1:30 pm
by Mike LM
We're still trying to reproduce the issue on different machines with different configurations. What add-ons do you have installed?

Glad to hear that you've found a workaround for the meantime.

- Mike

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 3:21 pm
by mfkillen
Hi Mike.

I have 3 installs and all the same results.
1st install is on my server which is a clean install with only VRS tp and SB.
Very similar to the specs I gave you above.

2nd install is for my pit and all I have on it is ftx global, active sky and VRS tp and SB.

Those two installs are v3.2 academic

3rd install is on my laptop which I'd v3.2 professional and clean install.
This on I can understand been dragged down as it is just above minimum requirements. But all the same results.

Cheers
Mark

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 4:19 pm
by Mike LM
When you're using SimDirector, what mission are you editing? The default or one that you've built? If it's the latter, how many objects do you have in it? And when you switch to viz, is it in grouped display or full view?

- Mike

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Sat Apr 16, 2016 1:33 am
by mfkillen
Hi again.

I was actually starting from scratch going step by step off the wiki instructions. I'm out of town till Monday so I'll follow up on that other question. Thanks.

Mark

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:55 pm
by Raynald1
Since my last post, I started SimDirector by clicking on Catalog and letting it load first and no problem.
However, it would be nice to not have to load all the scenery items like the weapons and the zebras every time I start SimDirector.
I know I could put those in a separate folder and look for them when I need them but if you could have them on the "outside " of the program and only load them as needed it would speed up the initial loading.

Thanks

Ray

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 1:56 pm
by Mike LM
If you wait for a short while before doing other things, do you still need to click Catalog to load correctly?

- Mike

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Posted: Mon Apr 25, 2016 6:29 pm
by sqbltz
I have the very same problem in two different computers.
One of them with a fresh install

AS