SimDirector freezing on startup

Discussion related to Mission design and creation.
User avatar
Raynald1
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 10:11 pm
Location: Prescott, AZ
Contact:

SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby Raynald1 » Thu Apr 07, 2016 11:31 pm

The only way I can start SimDirector is by clicking on catalog first and wait for the catalog to load.
If I click on the vizualization tab first, it freezes and the circle goes round and round to infinity and beyond...

Ray
Ray Bedard
True Course Simulations

User avatar
mfkillen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby mfkillen » Mon Apr 11, 2016 5:02 pm

Just doesn't freeze up on start up it continuously freezing. so much to the point that it probably better using another mission creation tool. Great concept but really needs work.

Mike LM
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:26 pm

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby Mike LM » Mon Apr 11, 2016 5:22 pm

Raynald1 wrote:The only way I can start SimDirector is by clicking on catalog first and wait for the catalog to load.
If I click on the vizualization tab first, it freezes and the circle goes round and round to infinity and beyond...

I'm not able to reproduce the issue. A few questions:
What are your system specs?
And which add-ons are you using?
Can you load the Prepar3D view alright?

- Mike
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

User avatar
mfkillen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby mfkillen » Mon Apr 11, 2016 6:15 pm

Hi Mike

Thanks for the reply

Raynald1 soy didn't mean to hijack you thread here but I saw 50 views and no answer.

Mike
thanks for the reply.

Windows 10
AMD FX(tm) 6300 Six core 3.50GHZ
24GB ram
SSD 500 GB HD
Nivida
1x GTX 970
2x GTX GT 730

which add-ons are you using?

FTX global only

Can you load the Prepar3D view alright?

Didn't even get that far as noticed my CPU when stating Sim-director was at 97 % and nothing else running other then P3d and Avast AV

Where I noticed the continuous lag and pauses was on my other machine where I was making an attempt of leaning the Sim-director. A note also is that this machine is my dedicated server which runs no addons at all. Every time i wanted to add something or click on an item it would be unresponsive for 30 sec or so before I could proceed. Very frustrating to say the least.


Cheers

Mark

Mike LM
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:26 pm

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby Mike LM » Mon Apr 11, 2016 7:54 pm

Which version of Prepar3D do you have? All of the updates in v3 helped out SimDirector's resource usage a lot.

- Mike
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

User avatar
mfkillen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby mfkillen » Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:07 pm

Hi Mike.

Sorry, forgot to put that in. Latest version of version 3

Mark

User avatar
Raynald1
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 10:11 pm
Location: Prescott, AZ
Contact:

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby Raynald1 » Tue Apr 12, 2016 5:38 pm

I am using P3D v3.2.
Even if I start with a blank SimDirector "canvas", I have to click on catalog (bottom left tab) and let it do its thing otherwise it will freeze and I have to restart. It will not close using the close window X (top right of the window).
i have to use the Windows Task Manager to close it.

I am using Window 7 with Service Pack 1
64 bit Operating system
8 GB of RAM
Intel i7-4790K CPU @4GHz

Ray
Ray Bedard
True Course Simulations

User avatar
mfkillen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby mfkillen » Thu Apr 14, 2016 9:13 pm

Mike LM wrote:Which version of Prepar3D do you have? All of the updates in v3 helped out SimDirector's resource usage a lot.

- Mike


Any more follow up on this at all from support.

Mike LM
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:26 pm

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby Mike LM » Fri Apr 15, 2016 1:30 pm

We're still trying to reproduce the issue on different machines with different configurations. What add-ons do you have installed?

Glad to hear that you've found a workaround for the meantime.

- Mike
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

User avatar
mfkillen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby mfkillen » Fri Apr 15, 2016 3:21 pm

Hi Mike.

I have 3 installs and all the same results.
1st install is on my server which is a clean install with only VRS tp and SB.
Very similar to the specs I gave you above.

2nd install is for my pit and all I have on it is ftx global, active sky and VRS tp and SB.

Those two installs are v3.2 academic

3rd install is on my laptop which I'd v3.2 professional and clean install.
This on I can understand been dragged down as it is just above minimum requirements. But all the same results.

Cheers
Mark

Mike LM
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:26 pm

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby Mike LM » Fri Apr 15, 2016 4:19 pm

When you're using SimDirector, what mission are you editing? The default or one that you've built? If it's the latter, how many objects do you have in it? And when you switch to viz, is it in grouped display or full view?

- Mike
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

User avatar
mfkillen
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 11:08 pm
Contact:

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby mfkillen » Sat Apr 16, 2016 1:33 am

Hi again.

I was actually starting from scratch going step by step off the wiki instructions. I'm out of town till Monday so I'll follow up on that other question. Thanks.

Mark

User avatar
Raynald1
Posts: 84
Joined: Mon Jun 24, 2013 10:11 pm
Location: Prescott, AZ
Contact:

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby Raynald1 » Mon Apr 18, 2016 4:55 pm

Since my last post, I started SimDirector by clicking on Catalog and letting it load first and no problem.
However, it would be nice to not have to load all the scenery items like the weapons and the zebras every time I start SimDirector.
I know I could put those in a separate folder and look for them when I need them but if you could have them on the "outside " of the program and only load them as needed it would speed up the initial loading.

Thanks

Ray
Ray Bedard
True Course Simulations

Mike LM
Posts: 1344
Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:26 pm

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby Mike LM » Tue Apr 19, 2016 1:56 pm

If you wait for a short while before doing other things, do you still need to click Catalog to load correctly?

- Mike
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

sqbltz
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 11:29 am

Re: SimDirector freezing on startup

Postby sqbltz » Mon Apr 25, 2016 6:29 pm

I have the very same problem in two different computers.
One of them with a fresh install

AS


Return to “Scenario Development (SimDirector) Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests