VETZ airport

Discussion related to terrain/scenery design.
Post Reply
PhilK
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:25 pm

VETZ airport

Post by PhilK »

P3D 5.1.12 here, no airport addon for the area, other addons as per my signature.
On my system, VETZ appears with an active airport and runway 05/23, and slightly east of the 05/23, a closed 04/22 is also showing.
However, this closed runway is sitting at an altitude of 230ft, above a hole whose bottom lies at -4593.2ft, generating spikes at the boundary between terrain and airport background.
Opening the stock airport with ADE, ..\scenery\0902\scenery\APX72220.bgl actually shows an active, and a closed runway, which latest can not be seen into Google Maps view.
Skyvector as well as Airportguide do both report VETZ at 240ft altitude (230ft in P3D).
I assume that the 04/22 has possibly be amended to 05/23 due to magnetic variations, thus only one runway to show in the sim.
Thanking you in advance for your assistance and comprehension,
Greatings from Paris, France
Windows 10 x64, Z170A Gaming Pro Mobo, i7-6700K CPU (no O/C), 16 Gb DDR4 RAM, GTX1060 6 Gb, P3D v5.1.12, Toposim mesh, FTX Global Base, Vector, OpenLC EU, OpenLC North America, OpenLC South America, OpenLC Africa, Trees HD, ASP3D, ASCA
PhilK
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:25 pm

Re: VETZ airport

Post by PhilK »

Meanwhile, issue solved.
Using ADE, I deleted the offending "closed runway", excluded the former airport background, and created a new one around the 05/23 runway. No more spikes, no more "flying carpet" runway.
Windows 10 x64, Z170A Gaming Pro Mobo, i7-6700K CPU (no O/C), 16 Gb DDR4 RAM, GTX1060 6 Gb, P3D v5.1.12, Toposim mesh, FTX Global Base, Vector, OpenLC EU, OpenLC North America, OpenLC South America, OpenLC Africa, Trees HD, ASP3D, ASCA
mpni
Posts: 286
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:37 am
Contact:

Re: VETZ airport

Post by mpni »

Hi all
I confirm this bug.
Hope LM will do a correction.
Regards
Michel
User avatar
Max Perry
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 473
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2010 1:22 am

Re: VETZ airport

Post by Max Perry »

I see it in the default scenery and will fix it up best I can. Thanks for reporting it!
Post Reply