Will FSX Traffic files work in P3Dv4.5?

For all topics that don't fit into another category. Note that we cannot promise that any of these posts will be responded to by our development team.
freded
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:39 pm
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada

Will FSX Traffic files work in P3Dv4.5?

Postby freded » Thu May 09, 2019 12:42 pm

I am using UTL Client with P3D4.5 successfully.

Is it possible to add home-made Traffic files, that worked in FSX, to P3D?

I have added the appropriate files (Traffic_xx.bgl) to ...\Prepar3D 4.5\Scenery\World\Scenery, but the AI aircraft don't appear at the airports.

Is there some way of fixing this?
Regards,
Mark

Pete Dowson
Posts: 612
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 3:45 pm

Re: Will FSX Traffic files work in P3Dv4.5?

Postby Pete Dowson » Thu May 09, 2019 1:26 pm

I have added the appropriate files (Traffic_xx.bgl) to ...\Prepar3D 4.5\Scenery\World\Scenery, but the AI aircraft don't appear at the airports.

Have you added all the aircraft you need for it too? (SimObjects)

MT6 was made for FSX and I still used it with P3D4 until not so long ago, when I switched to UTLive and now to AIG-AIM. Each package uses its own defined aircraft.

Pete
My System

Win10: 2004 build 19041.264
Processor: I9 9900KS at 5.5GHz
Mobo: Maximus XI Extreme Z390
Memory: 32Gb at 3900 MHz.
GPU: RTX 24Gb Titan
Displays: 2 x 2160p projectors at 25Hz onto 200 FOV curved screen
P3D4 set with 2 windows using ViewGroups

freded
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:39 pm
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada

Re: Will FSX Traffic files work in P3Dv4.5?

Postby freded » Thu May 09, 2019 9:08 pm

Hi Pete,

Thanks for your reply.

Yes, I've added the necessary aircraft to SimObjects.

I haven't been using MT6, but a pretty old program called TTools that worked well in FSX. Using it, I could make my own AI files. It makes files such as Traffic_xx.bgl that you place in ...\Scenery\World\Scenery.

Does AIG-AIM allow the production of home-made AI files? I haven't downloaded it yet, but I do have UTLive and haven't explored whether it will make new AI files... Perhaps I can convert my Traffic_xx.bgl files so they'll work in one of those programs?
Regards,
Mark

User avatar
Blaunarwal
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:37 pm
Location: LSZH

Re: Will FSX Traffic files work in P3Dv4.5?

Postby Blaunarwal » Fri May 10, 2019 4:54 pm

Todays best program to produce your own traffic files is AI Flight Planner
http://stuff4fs.com/newpage.asp?folder=aifp

If you don´t see your traffic, there maybe one FS9 traffic.bgl, which stopps all traffic. AI flight planner can help you to find such files and also convert them to FSX standard.

Also make sure, your ai aircraft have minimum FSX models. Open mdl files with an editor, like notepad+. In the first line you should see a string MDLXMDLH

If you see MDL8MDLH it´s FS9 and not compatible without conversion. That´s another book.

Go for AIG-AIM. I downloaded all traffic with this installer. It is great. I deactivated Mytraffic 6 since then.

Dan
Image
GPU KFA2 RTX2080 Super Ex

freded
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Nov 24, 2012 10:39 pm
Location: Vancouver Island, Canada

Re: Will FSX Traffic files work in P3Dv4.5?

Postby freded » Sun May 12, 2019 9:03 am

Thanks Dan,

I'm having a look at AI Flight Planner and it appears to be just what I need. As far as I can see, it will accept existing TTools files and convert them to a format that's compatible with P3D.

I've yet to read the manual but it seems pretty straightforward.
Regards,
Mark

User avatar
Blaunarwal
Posts: 354
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:37 pm
Location: LSZH

Re: Will FSX Traffic files work in P3Dv4.5?

Postby Blaunarwal » Sun May 12, 2019 10:37 am

Your welcome. I had sometimes difficulties to understand the program in the beginning but the more you use it, the easier it gets. Also the developer, D. Grovestine is very helpful.
Dan
Image
GPU KFA2 RTX2080 Super Ex


Return to “Miscellaneous”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 14 guests