How do I get Simconnect Message Window to Display in VR?

For all topics that don't fit into another category. Note that we cannot promise that any of these posts will be responded to by our development team.
powayjoe
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:49 pm

How do I get Simconnect Message Window to Display in VR?

Postby powayjoe » Fri Mar 01, 2019 1:41 am

I have tried all the suggestions from Kayla on this forum of placing it in the upper left corner etc... and nothing works.

I have been able to display the ATC window in VR and even had added the config modifications to custom size and place that window and many others in VR successfully.

However I cannot get the Simconnect Message Window to diplay in VR. I use Radar Contact and need to see the Simconnect Message Window that displays fine in 2D.

Please Advise
Joe
I9-9900KS 5.1GHz, RTX 2080 FTW3 Hybrid, Trident 32GB DDR4 3200 C14, EVO 970 2TB M.2, Corsair AX-850, Gigabyte A-390 Master, Oculus Rift S, 40 inch 4K Screen at 30 Hz, VKB Gunfighter, Virpil Moongoost 50,MFG Crosswind Pedals, CP, Linda, VA, FFTF, P2ATC

User avatar
Kayla Kinzel
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1309
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: How do I get Simconnect Message Window to Display in VR?

Postby Kayla Kinzel » Fri Mar 01, 2019 3:05 pm

Hello,

Is the Radar Contact you are using something you have developed, or possibly a 3rd party add-on?

Scaleform windows should show in VR. If the message window you're referring to created as a Scaleform window, you should be able to make it appear in VR.

Here's some more information on Scaleform panels:
https://www.prepar3d.com/SDKv4/sdk/pane ... orial.html

Regards,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

powayjoe
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: How do I get Simconnect Message Window to Display in VR?

Postby powayjoe » Fri Mar 01, 2019 3:30 pm

Radar Contact is a long standing widely used third party app that provides much better ATC. It’s interface uses the Simconnect message window. Is there something in particular I should investigate to change regarding these windows to make it work?

Joe
I9-9900KS 5.1GHz, RTX 2080 FTW3 Hybrid, Trident 32GB DDR4 3200 C14, EVO 970 2TB M.2, Corsair AX-850, Gigabyte A-390 Master, Oculus Rift S, 40 inch 4K Screen at 30 Hz, VKB Gunfighter, Virpil Moongoost 50,MFG Crosswind Pedals, CP, Linda, VA, FFTF, P2ATC

TazX
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 10:42 am

Re: How do I get Simconnect Message Window to Display in VR?

Postby TazX » Sun Jan 05, 2020 6:02 pm

Hey Joe,

Still looking for a solution? If this is so, I might have something which I'm testing and looking good. Let me know if you have a solution for our common problem; else I'll tell you about my solution.

Best!

Juan

powayjoe
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 9:49 pm

Re: How do I get Simconnect Message Window to Display in VR?

Postby powayjoe » Tue Jan 14, 2020 3:24 pm

I would be interested in your approach.

Thanks in advance
Joe
I9-9900KS 5.1GHz, RTX 2080 FTW3 Hybrid, Trident 32GB DDR4 3200 C14, EVO 970 2TB M.2, Corsair AX-850, Gigabyte A-390 Master, Oculus Rift S, 40 inch 4K Screen at 30 Hz, VKB Gunfighter, Virpil Moongoost 50,MFG Crosswind Pedals, CP, Linda, VA, FFTF, P2ATC


Return to “Miscellaneous”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 35 guests