1/2 Refresh Rate Vsync

For all topics that don't fit into another category. Note that we cannot promise that any of these posts will be responded to by our development team.
shermank
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Nov 28, 2013 6:17 pm

Re: 1/2 Refresh Rate Vsync

Postby shermank » Fri Sep 07, 2018 12:41 pm

Tomaz,

I realize this is confusing. So, here is my suggestion. Fly for a while both with and without VSync. Think about which one looks and performs better in your specific system. That is the setting to use. Hope this simple suggestion helps.'

Sherm

TomazDrnovsek
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:01 pm

Re: 1/2 Refresh Rate Vsync

Postby TomazDrnovsek » Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:30 pm

Tomaz,
I realize this is confusing. So, here is my suggestion. Fly for a while both with and without VSync. Think about which one looks and performs better in your specific system. That is the setting to use. Hope this simple suggestion helps.'
Sherm
Thank you. But no, it doesn't. I'm not looking for placebo. All I want to know is from a technical standpoint if it's even possible to have any effect. That's all. It's like asking if P3D can run on Android. The answer would be "yes" or "no", right? It's that simple.

User avatar
Kayla Kinzel
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1116
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: 1/2 Refresh Rate Vsync

Postby Kayla Kinzel » Mon Sep 10, 2018 12:23 pm

Hello,

In the Prepar3D Options - Display, we support VSync On and Off. You can also Enable/Disable Triple Buffering when VSync is On.

These are the only options for VSync that are supported natively.

Unfortunately, we cannot provide support for third party applications.

Please contact the developers of any external tools for more information pertaining their products and its features.

Thanks,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

TomazDrnovsek
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:01 pm

Re: 1/2 Refresh Rate Vsync

Postby TomazDrnovsek » Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:31 pm

You're suggesting I contact NVIDIA and ask them if one of the options in their control panel has any effect in Prepar3D? OK, I understand. Thank you.

User avatar
Brady Butler
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: 1/2 Refresh Rate Vsync

Postby Brady Butler » Mon Sep 10, 2018 2:50 pm

Hello,

You can try setting the frame rate limit (within Prepar3D graphics options) to half of the refresh rate of your monitor for a similar effect. For example, if you have 60hz on your monitor you can set the frame rate limit to 30, etc.

Also, it appears "Nvidia inspector" is not actually made by Nvidia, so you would have to contact the proper developer, not Nvidia.

Regards,
Brady
Brady Butler
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

TomazDrnovsek
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:01 pm

Re: 1/2 Refresh Rate Vsync

Postby TomazDrnovsek » Mon Sep 10, 2018 3:41 pm

Hello,

You can try setting the frame rate limit (within Prepar3D graphics options) to half of the refresh rate of your monitor for a similar effect. For example, if you have 60hz on your monitor you can set the frame rate limit to 30, etc.

Also, it appears "Nvidia inspector" is not actually made by Nvidia, so you would have to contact the proper developer, not Nvidia.

Regards,
Brady
Thanks for suggestions.

The thing is if I limit the frames I get about 15-20 FPS less, which is a huge difference, actually the difference between smooth performance and stuttery mess. So I use unlimited which is the only setting that produces flyable experience when also using TrackIR. Even though it's a bit of a stretch to call the effect "similar". Somewhat "similar" would be to use 30Hz monitor.

About Nvidia inspector, we already established that my question is really, and I mean really not about Nvidia inspector rather it's about if adaptive half refresh rate, which can be set via Nvidia control panel, has ANY effect on P3D at all, from the technical standpoint. Just simple yes or no would suffice. I thought the developer of the application would know that.

Martyson
Posts: 4559
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: 1/2 Refresh Rate Vsync

Postby Martyson » Mon Sep 10, 2018 4:40 pm

I took a look at the Nvidia Manage 3D Settings options (screenshot).

The Nividia control panel has setting that Nvidia developed which the computer user is free to change (global default and profile) for many computer applications.

The Vertical sync options are not specific to P3D.

Nvidia site may have additional information on what each option does.

Image
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

TomazDrnovsek
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:01 pm

Re: 1/2 Refresh Rate Vsync

Postby TomazDrnovsek » Mon Sep 10, 2018 5:16 pm

I don't understand the point of that post.

TomazDrnovsek
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:01 pm

Re: 1/2 Refresh Rate Vsync

Postby TomazDrnovsek » Wed Sep 12, 2018 7:22 am

Nobody is asking what this option does. I know what it does, many people know what it does, apparently you don't. That was not the question.

What is this, the twilight zone?

TomazDrnovsek
Posts: 104
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 3:01 pm

Re: 1/2 Refresh Rate Vsync

Postby TomazDrnovsek » Thu Sep 20, 2018 4:26 pm

I just wanted to know if 1/2 Refresh Rate Vsync has any effect in P3D v4 because it's supposed to be a known fact that this setting has absolutely no effect in P3D v4 since the program doesn't run in a true fullscreen mode which is required for it to function. Nevertheless, topics suggesting various P3D v4 settings around the internet usually contain this adaptive Vsync setting and regularly some people swear that it does work. I just wanted to get to the bottom of this myth once and for all. As you can see, I failed miserably. Why LM refuses to give a simple answer is beyond me. I know it's not a native P3D v4 setting but for Pete's sake, they should know. It's not like I'm asking what the P3D v5 features will be :) Well, I guess this myth will live long and prosper to eternity. Over and out!

User avatar
Brady Butler
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 682
Joined: Tue May 09, 2017 5:31 pm

Re: 1/2 Refresh Rate Vsync

Postby Brady Butler » Thu Sep 20, 2018 4:57 pm

Hello,

If it needs true full screen to function, then it does not work. You can test it yourself by dropping all of your graphics settings so that your frame rate exceeds the 1/2 fps threshold your monitor will support. After ensuring the FPS is higher than half your monitors hz, enable the option. If it's still over 1/2, it does not work. If it's steadily at 1/2, it works. It is possible some people may have found a way to trick the option into working.

Regards,
Brady
Brady Butler
Prepar3D® Software Engineer


Return to “Miscellaneous”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests