VR Black Screen

Any issues, problems or troubleshooting topics related to the Prepar3D client application.
AsonNWoods
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:40 am

VR Black Screen

Postby AsonNWoods » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:05 am

Hello.

Recently I have been trying to use VR in p3d 4.3 but when I turn it on I am getting a a black screen on my monitor and my headset isn’t displaying anything.

The headset is turned on because the light is on but nothing is appearing.

I am using oculus rift.

Anyone else had this issue or know how to fix it?

Regards

User avatar
Kayla Kinzel
Lockheed Martin
Posts: 1153
Joined: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:59 pm

Re: VR Black Screen

Postby Kayla Kinzel » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:53 am

Hello,

Have you gone through the general debugging steps?
https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 2&t=123246

Regards,
Kayla
Prepar3D® Software Engineer

AsonNWoods
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:40 am

Re: VR Black Screen

Postby AsonNWoods » Fri Oct 12, 2018 6:46 pm

Hello,

Have you gone through the general debugging steps?
https://www.prepar3d.com/forum/viewtopi ... 2&t=123246

Regards,
Kayla
Hi,

Yes I have gone through those debugging steps and it is still the same.

I am running the following:
Intel core i7-4790k @4.7-4.9
16gb ram
Nvidia Rtx 2080 ti
Corsair 850i powersupply
Asus z97- deluxe
480gb ssd windows
240gb ssd p3d

toutenglisse73
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 10:52 pm

Re: VR Black Screen

Postby toutenglisse73 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 6:54 pm

AsonNWoods you have now to launch oculus home and seeing it in the rift before launching P3D's VR mode.

AsonNWoods
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:40 am

Re: VR Black Screen

Postby AsonNWoods » Sun Oct 14, 2018 10:41 am

AsonNWoods you have now to launch oculus home and seeing it in the rift before launching P3D's VR mode.
Really, that is terrible. I have done that in the past and the frame rate is shocking because it is rending the oculus home as well.

Is this since the Oculus update, in version 1 (i think it was) you could just click enable VR in P3d and that was that. So now that Oculus is V2 (i think) you have to do it that way? If so I hope this gets fixed because it is pointless to have the VR controls on the menu bar if they don't work as intended and you have to do it through Oculus.

Martyson
Posts: 4615
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2012 11:08 am

Re: VR Black Screen

Postby Martyson » Sun Oct 14, 2018 1:30 pm

This post is also showing in the Miscellaneous section?
Best Regards,
Vaughan Martell (KDTW)

toutenglisse73
Posts: 60
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 10:52 pm

Re: VR Black Screen

Postby toutenglisse73 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 4:55 pm

AsonNWoods yes for me it's like this since last oculus update.

It's not really a problem because when P3D VR kicks in, the oculus home disappear so there is no 2 rendering (P3D + home) at the same time.

Before the oculus update I was setting "home" not to launch with any VR apps (by ticking administrator's mode), but really there is no performance impact for what I can see/monitore.

AsonNWoods
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 02, 2014 11:40 am

Re: VR Black Screen

Postby AsonNWoods » Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:37 pm

AsonNWoods yes for me it's like this since last oculus update.

It's not really a problem because when P3D VR kicks in, the oculus home disappear so there is no 2 rendering (P3D + home) at the same time.

Before the oculus update I was setting "home" not to launch with any VR apps (by ticking administrator's mode), but really there is no performance impact for what I can see/monitore.
Awesome thanks.

I have turned off ‘Run as Admin’ on oculus and that croorcester the problem.


Return to “Prepar3D Client Application Questions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 94 guests